meteor russia dash cam footageScientists Want To Vaporize Asteroids That Threaten Earth
Santa Barbara CA (SPX) Feb 20, 2013 – As an asteroid roughly half as large as a football field – and with energy equal to a large hydrogen bomb – readies for a fly-by of Earth on Friday, two California scientists are unveiling their proposal for a system that could eliminate a threat of this size in an hour. The same system could destroy asteroids 10 times larger than the one known as 2012 DA14 in about a year, with evaporation st … more

Russian Fireball Largest Ever Detected by CTBTO’s Infrasound Sensors
Vienna, Austria (SPX) Feb 20, 2013 – Infrasonic waves from the meteor that broke up over Russia’s Ural mountains last week were the largest ever recorded by the CTBTO’s International Monitoring System. Infrasound is low frequency sound with a range of less than 10 Hz. The blast was detected by 17 infrasound stations in the CTBTO’s network, which tracks atomic blasts across the planet. The furthest station to record the sub-audible … more

The Russian Meteorite
Moffett Field CA (SPX) Feb 20, 2013 – New information provided by a worldwide network of sensors has allowed scientists to refine their estimates for the size of the object that entered the atmosphere and disintegrated in the skies over Chelyabinsk, Russia, at 7:20:26 p.m. PST, or 10:20:26 p.m. EST on Feb. 14 (3:20:26 UTC on Feb. 15). The estimated size of the object, prior to entering Earth’s atmosphere, has been revised upwa … more

How Do We Know the Russian Meteor and 2012 DA14 Aren’t Related?
Washington DC (SPX) Feb 20, 2013 – So how can we tell that the Russian meteor isn’t related to asteroid 2012 DA14? One way is to look at meteor showers – the Orionids all have similar orbits to their parent comet, Halley. Similarly, the Geminids all move in orbits that closely resemble the asteroid 3200 Phaethon, which produced them. So if the Russian meteor was a fragment of 2014 DA14, it would have an orbit very similar … more